I Don’t Need No Doctor

Location: Perth, Australia

Local time: 03:05 pm


 

 

Hi *cough* everyone!

Hope *sniff* you’re all *cough* doing great! As you might have guessed, I’m sick. Or at least, I was sick. Doing alright at the moment 🙂

So, my last post was on Wednesday, recapping until Tuesday. My throat ache started somewhere during the day on Tuesday, but was in full swing on Wednesday. I’m not talking a simple sore throat, I could hardly talk without crumbling over in pain. Well, maybe that’s a bit exaggerated, but I was in pain, dammit! 😉

The pain wouldn’t go away with simple Ibuprofen or Paracetamol (which I brought from The Netherlands), so I went to a local pharmacy on Thursday to get some medicine. As it turns out, the best option was to start gargling with Betadine. Now I don’t know if you ever gargled with that poison, but it’s not pretty. I mean, the taste itself almost makes you want to throw up, but the stuff you spit out looks like a mix of old blood and some other stuff mixed up. Sorry to paint such a picture, but it was rough…

Anyway, the stuff did help with the throat ache, so that was great! However, I got headaches that would get progressively worse during the day. I started feeling nauseous and  lightheaded (the last probably had something to do with the fact that I hadn’t really eaten a lot during the day…:)). So by Saturday (which also turned out to be ANZAC Day) I felt like death warmed over. Thankfully, because of the march through the main street (where our office is located as well), I had enough distractions. By lunch, I’d barely gotten any work done so I figured I’d go home and spend the rest of the day in bed. Which I then did. I started throwing up and the headaches were still there. On Sunday I wanted to get out for some fresh air, so I decided to go to a local park. A colleague had mentioned Kings park, so I followed her advice and went there. My god, it was beautiful! It was a perfect day (25 degrees, sunny, not a cloud in sight) and I got to walk around for about an hour and a half before I got really tired and decided to go back home again. Spent the rest of the day in bed and felt awful… And I’d suddenly developed a really nasty cough as well.. Great news!

On Monday, I went into work but quit after about an hour and a half. I was coughing every other minute, still having headaches and just feeling pretty awful in general… No surprise, but I spent the rest of the day in bed…

Tuesday, I felt a bit better. However, I was still throwing up. When I got into work, I decided I should maybe call a doctor… I was lucky enough to get an appointment on the same day and as it turned out, I should have gone sooner. My doctor suspected I was unlucky enough to have 2 viruses at the same time: a simple cold and some type of stomach virus. She gave me some antibiotic or something and sent me back home, straight to bed. Which I then faithfully did. I was just happy she wasn’t going to stab me with some needle. She said she could treat the nausea with some injection, but suddenly I wasn’t nauseous anymore! The nausea was going to be over long before she was going to stab me 😀

The next morning, Wednesday, was actually pretty good. I stayed at home until 10.30 am to ensure I  wasn’t throwing up anymore and then went to work. I still had a headache, especially when I coughed, but overall I was feeling better than I had felt all week! Today, Thursday, I can definitely say I’m all good. Let’s hope I’m done with being sick for another year!

The plan for this coming week is to catch up with work. Sundays are my day off, so I’m planning a trip. Not sure yet where to. Apparently the weather is going to be pretty shit (below 20 degrees and rain), so that’s kinda ruined my plans. Originally, I wanted to go to Penguin Island and do a river cruise afterwards… but I might just do a breweries/wineries tour. Drinking is good for rainy days, right? Well, drinking is good on any given day, but still… 😉

Anyway, I’ll keep you posted! For now, have a lovely day and I’ll talk to y’all soon!

Adios,
Thecla

Leave a Reply

