9 To 5

Current location: Jakarta, Pluit office

Local time: 2.20 pm.


Hiya!
Another update from me! I don’t even remember when I last posted.. Must’ve been at least a week ago… Oh yes, Jakarta!

I am completely settled in my hotel room and in the office. Apparently we’re very lucky because the hotel is only a 10 minute drive from the office. Other projects often have an hour-long commute. In Jakarta it all depends on traffic. If it’s raining, a 10 minute commute can suddenly take over 30 minutes! Thankfully we don’t have to drive (we’re not even allowed! bla bla. Insurance. bla bla:) ). so we have hired locals that drive us around. It makes me feel rich, haha!

We leave for work at 7.30 am, arrive there around 7.45. Work all morning, break for lunch around 12.20 pm, have some delicious lunch in the same building we work in, and get back to work. Work all afternoon, finish around 7 pm. Back at the hotel around 7.20 pm and have some dinner. I tend to order room service, so I can relax in my room, watch some tv and get to bed early. Also, I go to the gym at least 3 times a week, so if I want to eat after working out, it would mean I would still be in the dining room around 10 pm. Not great :). Sometimes, we go to the mall, which is very close, and get some food in a food court. Obviously eating with the team is more fun, but I’m often too tired to walk to the mall and have dinner there. It just takes up all evening.

The work itself is also very enjoyable! I do lots of simple tasks, which isn’t very challenging, but I’m slowly moving towards more challenging tasks. We’ll see where that goes.

I spent my day off (last Sunday) in the city center. I’d gotten the contact information of a fellow Dutchie, Michelle, here in Jakarta. She’s doing her graduate thesis here in Jakarta for 2 months, so we decided to hang out on Sunday. We went to the national museum (meh), the national monument (busy!), and the biggest mall in Jakarta (yay!). We had some lunch, watched a movie (Fast & Furious 7: *Sad face*), and walked/talked. It was a great way to spend my day off, and making new friends is always fun! Great day!
Today, also a Sunday, sadly isn’t my a day off. I made the mistake of offering my help to the project director for a small project and now I’m stuck working all day. Lesson learned, eh? No, just kidding. It’s not like I’ve got something better to do, right?

Alrighty then. This is me signing off. As always, thanks for reading.

Talk to you soon!

Semoga hari 😀

Thecla

Leave a Reply

